How I found my legs again

Whilst walking with the guys and gals, I revel in their different ways.  They have their little habits and preferences, different likes and often funny walks.  CharlieLab wasn’t called Crazylegs by chance and Hugo looks like he is a cut and shut from the front, his hind legs walk a completely different path to his front.  Stan has his very own staffie skip, a clear indication of how he is feeling whereas Winnie’s hop is just Winnie.

I had acquired my own unfortunate walk, often falling and being completely stumped by hills going up.  Hills going down often meant a welcome speed up and perfectly flat ground  you would barely tell my hitch and swing.

A surgical procedure on my back soon fixed the problem, indeed it highlighted just how big the problem had been.  on leaving the hospital I was a little taken aback by my partners reaction ( I call him Mr Gumps and he suits it).  He was grinning, soon to be laughing and walked behind me in glee.  He clearly wasn’t taking this as seriously as he should so I tried, unsuccessfully, to spin round to glare at him and ask what was amusing him so much.

He started to high step not unlike a hackney pony but only with one leg and I soon realised I was high stepping with my right leg!

Try as I might I couldn’t stop doing it and I had visions of Crazylegs, Staffie skip and Winnie Hop being joined by Hackney hike.

The hackney hike did calm down as my body learnt it didn’t have to put quite as much effort into lifting that legs as it previously had and with physio and following doctors orders I was allowed to drive.

Oh lordy what a trial that was! My leg nerve had been so impinged my body had had to send out very strong signals to get it to respond and now the impingement was gone I was having to relearn how to control it.  Which meant pulling out of my drive practically gave me whiplash from the G-Force.  Mmm work needed on my accelerator control.  Once I had gotten over the shock of the G-Force I soon was flung forward when I tried to gently brake, a word that was all to accurate at this rate.

The driving soon became natural again, with no fear of causing mayhem on the roads.  Yet one more move has been harder to shake.

The Zombie Dive.

I frequently tripped and with a slow heavy leg I found I simply fell as my leg was to slow to react.  Baring the odd time I managed to hop myself out of trouble I either fell sideways or face down saving myself only with my hands ( often flopping sideways trying not to squish the pugs who funnily enough were often the cause of the tripping, never has the name of the Britain’s Got Talent dog, Trip Hazard been more poignant).

So for weeks I have found myself tripping occasionally and with my arms flying out in front of me, my body falling forward and yet I find myself still upright.  My foot has managed to step into place preventing the fall.  Yet still I stand looking like a Zombie, face contorted, arms out straight and looking just like I am about to fall forward into a grave!

Eleven weeks post op my body is still trying to keep me safe and my brain is gleefully waiting for it to catch up.

So if you should happen upon a lady walking dogs, doing a funny hike, or walking like a Zombie don’t rush by, wave and say hi I am obviously just having a bad day!

Here’s to more happy walking and raise a glass to the wonderful Neurosurgeon Anant Kamat, he is a shining star.

 

Leave a Reply

